Doulas | What They Do, Why We Have One & How We Found Ours

Today’s video is a brief 13 & 14 week pregnancy update since I hadn’t sat down to film one yet, but the bulk of the video is about doulas. I mentioned on Instagram and in an update that we had hired a doula and some people had questions about what a doula does and why we decided to get one so I thought I would film a video about it! Granted I am no expert in the area and have yet to give birth with one, I have done a lot of research and understand that a doula may be foreign to some people.

You can watch the video here: https://youtu.be/YcfnOHsdi-8

Here’s a list of the questions I asked my doula:

  • Are you certified? If so, what certifications?*
  • Are you familiar with the hospital where I’ll be delivering and my midwife group?
  • What is your role in communication with the medical staff?
  • Have you attended successful natural births?
  • Are you familiar with the hospital where I’ll be delivering and my midwife group?
  • Will you meet us at our house during labor before going to the hospital?
  • You will you work with my husband during labor and delivery?
  • What techniques do you use?
  • How will incorporate taking photos during labor and delivery?
  • Can you tell me about your backups? Am I guaranteed a doula for my labor and delivery?
  • Can you tell me in detail about your comprehensive plan and the fee?
  • Can you recommend someone for placenta encapsulation? (A lot of doulas offer this service, mine does not)
  • How will incorporate taking photos during labor and delivery?

*Doulas can go through certification, but they don’t have to be certified to practice – if it’s important to you that they are be sure to ask about certifications.

Be sure to do your research if you think a doula could benefit your pregnancy, labor, delivery and postpartum. I suggest watching More Business of Being Born as there is a specific segment on doulas – this and Business of Being Born are both currently on Netflix.

12575956_10102453352144842_789979961_n

 

Leave a Reply

